no-’poo friendly deep conditioners (no oils!)

a lot of you guys have gone no-’poo and experienced dry, brittle hair. and a lot of you are only using the baking soda method, so doing the coconut oil mask is (sadly) out of the question.

well my dear readers, i have scoured the internet world for a way for you to moisturize your hair, be able to stick with the baking soda, be able to stick with the organic/natural route, AND not break the bank! *high five*

natural deep conditioners (no-poo friendly)

here are my personal top choices that will wash out easily for you no-’poo-ers.
MIX & MATCH the following, based on what you need!

RAW HONEY (my top choice for moisture, softness & shine!)
- moisturizing
- humectant

ALOE
- remedy for itchy scalp
- moisturizing
- humectant
- adds shine

PLAIN, ORGANIC YOGURT
- softening
- strengthening

AVOCADO
- softening
- adds shine

EGG YOLKS (my top choice for strength & shine!)
- reduce breakage
- strengthening

APPLE CIDER VINEGAR (ACV)
- adds shine
- softening

and here are some POPULAR COMBOS:
*ideally, you want to do these in the shower after you wash your hair, but beforehand is perfectly fine! also, these will drip, so put your hair up in an old plastic grocery bag or shower cap :)

ALOE & HONEY
- homemade aloe gel OR a store bought one with NO fragrance, alcohol, or dyes!!
- raw honey
1. blend (yes, in a blender) 1/4 cup aloe gel and 2 tablespoons raw honey until smooth & consistent
2. apply all over hair (root to ends) and leave on for 15-20 minutes
3. rinse with water

EGG YOLK & YOGURT (intensive protein treatment for brittle hair!)
- 1 egg yolk
- 1/2 cup plain, organic yogurt (because you don’t want sugar in your hair lol)
1. mix egg yolk and yogurt in a small bowl until consistent
2. apply to hair and leave on 15-20 minutes
3. rinse with water

AVOCADO, HONEY, & ACV (for dry hair!)
- 1/2 ripe banana
- 1/2 avocado
- 2 tablespoons honey
- 1 teaspoon apple cider vinegar
1. blend all ingredients in a blender. you may need to add water if it’s too thick
2. apply to hair and leave on for 15-20 minutes
3. rinse with water

that about does it for now! i’m sorry i haven’t posted these miracles before now! forgive me, yea? :)

signature

188 comments

  1. Hi Alex! I used your avocado/banana/honey/acv conditioner yesterday after my bs/acv routine. Unfortunately, my hair still looks like it’s wet, almost 24 hours later! I’d just gotten to the point where I could wash every 4 days or so, and I hate to lose the progress. Any suggestions? Thanks, Lauri

    Like this

    1. Hi Lauri and Alex, EXACTLY the same has happened to me! I used an avocado/honey/acv conditioner today and my hair is now looking very wet and not very nice at all. Like Lauir I had just got to the point where I can wash once a week with BS and ACV rinse. I’d really hate to have to use shampoo on it. Do you have any suggestions as to why this happened and what to do? Many thanks!

      Like this

      1. I tried my first deep conditioner last nigh,t (avocado/banana/honey/acv) this morning my hair still looks wet if not completely greasy. I’ve seen similar comments, but haven’t found a response yet (sorry if I missed it some where) Thanks!

        Like this

  2. Hey Alexraye!

    I’m so thankful I came across your blog! It’s quite awesome how there are so many people here supporting you and there’s an awesome atmosphere going on, plus your posts are very detailed. However despite all your help, I’m still disappointed about the state of my hair! I started no ‘poo a year ago, going to high school not washing my hair for 5 days or so during the transition period… I was pretty into it haha.

    Then I went to my graduation, and yep, hairspray was plastered on, and I had heaps of ups and downs, allowing the salon lady to wash my hair with salon shampoo and conditioner, my hair felt awesome again…. but dang, that grease!! Didn’t even bother waiting a day, after that shampoo and conditioner, day two, BAM! The grease was back! So that wasn’t good! And I wanted to go no ‘poo again! …But first I went travelling (this was before I found your blog and learnt how to do no ‘poo when travelling) and bought a cute little pack (I should not have let the cuteness get to me…) of Sunsilk Shampoo and Conditioner (before I learnt about silicons and how they can make life more difficult for no ‘pooing lifestyles).

    Anyway… a month or so ago I started from scratch. First I clarified (forgot to deep condition after, as I didn’t seem to quite catch that first time ’round reading your blog). Then waited 5 days before washing my hair with 1 TBSP Bi-Carb to 1 Cup Water and 1 TBSP Apple Cider Vinegar to 1 Cup Water. My hair felt great, but I knew that wasn’t going to last long, on the account, my hair seems to love getting dry!

    Then the time came, da da dum, dry hair! …Plus dandruff! So I tried the Aloe Vera method; Put the Aloe Vera Juice in my hair and used my fingers to massage it into my scalp and ran my fingers down my hair to get that juice on all of my strands of hair. The juice was dripping away so I hurried to get my shopping bag on my head. So left it for 15 minutes (okay, okay, you got me, it was a bit longer, perhaps, 25 minutes?) – As I was using oats to wash my body and I still haven’t found a way of quickening up my pace while I’m using oats in a pantyhose to wash my body haha. Still in the trial process with the oats… not sure if it works or not… but it definitely has reduced the ‘dryness’ of my skin. -

    Now, I’m not sure if the time factor was the problem, or if Aloe Vera Juice hates me, or it’s the preservatives (I understand Aloe Vera oxidizes and needs to have citrus acid or another preservative to keep it preserved so I didn’t worry about the preservatives too much when I bought the Aloe Vera Juice).The Aloe Vera Juice I used was the ‘Natural Aloe Vera Juice’ by Aloe Vera of Australia, http://www.aussiehealthproducts.com.au/aloe-vera.php?id=71495&Aloe-Vera-Natural-Juice-1Ltr. The juice contains 99.9% Aloe Vera Juice (inner-leaf juice) and Preservatives (202 (Potassium sorbate), 211 (Sodium benzoate)) More information on preservatives: http://mbm.net.au/health/200-290.htm. Anyway, using that Aloe Vera made my hair go horrible! A bit crunchy the first time, straw like?, tangly, dry?, gunky? I have no idea how to describe it! Well, needless to say, I’m not a happy chappy, that stuff is expensive! I thought I’d give it another go the other day, same problem.

    I detangle my hair using a sort of wide-toothed comb, from the ends, going up, then I comb using a smaller-toothed comb, then brush my hair with a boar bristle brush. I have fine hair, if that means anything? Just longer than the shoulders and growing. I am using 1 TBSP Bi-Carb to 1 Cup Water and 1 TBSP Apple Cider Vinegar to 1 Cup Water. I remember in the past I tried changing the ratios – made my hair really nasty! I really don’t want to go trying this amount of Bi-Carb and this amount of Apple Cider Vinegar – but if that’s what I need to do, I’ll do it, of course – No matter how annoying it is haha.

    Now, as for your deep conditioners – Raw honey grabs my attention next – I was wondering… would normal honey work? I know it’s gone through heat processes, but would it?

    Avocado – one of my favourite foods – don’t really want to put it in my hair, too good, same with banana.

    Eggs – I’m a little bit allergic to them – I don’t buy them – and they smell.

    Low-Fat Plain Yoghurt – I was thinking Greek Style? But that’s got a high-fat content…hmm… I think they have low fat options, I’m thinking of using that next…??

    Aloe really strikes at me though, because it does so much. I do have an aloe vera plant growing in the backyard, might take some gel from that?… but I’m concerned about the while oxidizing thing – do you think I should blend in up in some lemon juice or something? I’m concerned with the citrus being on my scalp though, because I know citrus essential oils aren’t good on your skin when going outside into the sun as it makes your skin sensitive and increases your risk of skin cancer or something like that?

    I tried running coconut in my hair, and it was a finger nail’s worth, didn’t really make a major difference. I was thinking of doing your “Quick Conditioner”? But I don’t know what to do.

    Anyway, that’s enough from me, I really hope you can help! All the best with the ROMing!

    Thanks,

    ‘alexrayeYouAreAwesome’

    P.S. Sorry for any spelling errors!

    Like this

  3. I’m 2 weeks in and so far so good. I stopped coloring 9 months ago and have about 5 inches of new growth. I’m struggling with frizz. Which conditioning recipe would you recommend?

    Like this

  4. Hello Alexraye,

    I posted a really long comment before but it has disappeared, quite saddened by that but I basically wanted to know why aloe vera juice didn’t work for me well. The aloe vera juice I bought contains 99.9% Aloe Vera Juice (inner-leaf juice) and Preservatives (202 (Potassium sorbate), 211 (Sodium benzoate)). I was thinking perhaps it was the preservatives? Or it may have been because it was in my hair longer then 20 minutes? My hair didn’t seem to get moisturised it felt very strange, like semi-crunchy, semi-dirty, it wasn’t feeling good! I tried the aloe vera juice method twice, both not giving me good results. I have fine hair and I wash my hair with 1 Tbsp Baking Soda mixed 1 cup filtered water then rinse it with water and then rinse it with 1 Tbsp Apple Cider Vinegar mixed with 1 cup filtered water every 5 days. That works fine, it’s just my hair gets really dry. I’ve been doing No ‘Poo for a while. Your blog gave me the best information and I’m thankful I came across it. I can’t use egg. I’d like to try to use honey, would normal honey work? Or it definitely needs to be RAW honey? I may try the yoghurt.

    Thanks,

    Miss. Natural :)

    Like this

    1. hey there! i have all my comments held for moderation because that’s the only way i know who i’ve answered and who i haven’t :) i’m sorry!
      i’m honestly not sure why the aloe would make your hair crunchy feeling, unless it didnt get rinsed out well enough. any readers know??
      and yes, it definitely needs to be RAW honey! that’s my favorite way to condition :)

      Like this

      1. Hello again Alexraye!

        Haha, that’s okay! I’m pretty sure my hair is clarified too as it feels good after the Bi-Carb wash and ACV rinse. Perhaps I applied the aloe at the wrong time? I used it the day after I washed my hair. It was in my hair for around 30 minutes since I was trying to wash my body using oats (oatmeal) in a pantyhose, since my back was getting really itchy haha. I’m undecided whether the oats works or not but it definitely helped my skin feel more moisturized!

        Perhaps I could try your “Quick conditioner” after my wash?

        My hair may still be transitioning too, because although I started ‘No ‘poo’ a year ago, I went travelling and used Sunsilk which has silicons!! So I restarted my ‘No ‘poo’ treatment about 3 or so weeks ago.

        Haha, thanks,

        Miss. Natural

        Like this

  5. I just wanted to know if it would be okay to use the avocado, honey, apple cider vinegar treatment weekly since apple cider vinegar is so acidic? I don’t want to have adverse effects.

    Like this

  6. Ok so I have read several things that say the baking soda/acv method will dry out and damage hair. Is this true? I have tried it a few times and love it! but was scared it would damage my hair :( Right now I am using shampoo bars from Chagrin Valley, but my hair seems to get really greasy so I have to use nasty chemical shampoo every couple weeks to un-grease it…. The roots are oily but the ends are dry. What do I do? My hair is down to my lower back, but it seems like I can’t get it any longer. I trim it regularly and take vitamins, but wear it in a braid almost everyday. I also have re-occurring eczema on my scalp. Any suggestions for that? Thank you so much, any info is greatly appreciated!

    Like this

    1. I have been using baking soda and the occasional apple cider vin egar but it’s not what my hair needs. So im trying the egg and yogurt. Baking soda over time seems to cause breakage but not if its conditioned with one of these awesome ingredients. I suggest no soap bars or shampoo. No poo is the way to fuller healthy natural hair.

      Like this

  7. Any natural tips for frizz and breakage? I have mostly straight, mid-rib length hair and need help keeping it smooth throughout the day

    Like this

  8. Hi alexraye! I am going no-’poo and I know that coconut oil is no since it won’t wash out, but what about other oils like castor oil or olive oil? I see a lot of olive oil and honey hair masks online, are these ok to use as a natural deep conditioner? Let me know please!
    Thanks!
    -jigglyjade

    Like this

    1. hey jade! good luck! and sadly, no oil masks can be used with no-poo. the bs isnt enough to get oils back out of hair. but you can use oils in verrrry tiny amounts :)

      Like this

  9. Hey alexraye! It’s jade here again! I was just wondering about the honey deep conditioning and I don’t know if I’m doing it right… My hair feels a little weird after I try to use it.. Please let me know! Thanks!

    Like this

  10. Hi!! I totally want to try the no poo method too but I wanted to ask if it would work if I am also using flax seed oil gel to manage my curls?? I love flax seed oil gel and it’s only my first day.
    I am down for no washing and getting my hair off the poo but don’t want to give up the best/softest natural curl enhancer ever. I made my FSG and added almond oil and lavendar oil but I would like to add argan oil as soon as it ships in.

    Thanks for all the info!!

    Like this

  11. Hi guys!
    I have one question about this deep conditioning thing :)
    You see , I don’t do that, I’m doing no poo for few months and may hair is soft and healthy .
    Instead of deep conditioner I use olive oil. I take few drops on my hands and I put it (?) on my hair (not on scalp) let it set for few minutes and then i rinse it.
    My hair is soft and shiny and really great but here is question
    Can olive oil do the same “job” as deep conditioner????
    Anyone? :)

    Like this

  12. I have organic ACV in my cupboard and I have some bananas and a couple of avocados too. Can I pick one of those three options and deep condition my hair or do I need to do the combo options you have provided?

    I am going to clarify my hair in the morning and I couldn’t run to the store and buy organic plain yogurt or raw honey. I can’t wait another day since my hair is starting to get extremely oily from going 4 days without a wash.

    Thanks for reading.

    Like this

  13. Hey alexraye! I have considered going no-poo for a really long time, it sounds like a lot of work, so im saving it for the summer. Ive accomodated by shampooing once a week in tiny amounts only on my roots and using natural foods for hair masks and what not. The point is: I was wondering if these deep conditioners will still have the same effect even if im noo poo??

    Like this

  14. Hey Alex!

    I’ve been reading your blog for almost the past week in preparation of going no/low poo. I absolutely love your blog and it has really encouraged me to embark on my toxic/chemical-free journey (and I’m probably one of the most unhealthy person out there when it comes to beauty products).

    I’m not exaggerating but I have the worst hair, if I don’t wash it it just goes crazy and even if I do it gets all dry with flyaways everywhere. My hair isn’t dry to the touch (it looks dry though) but it is extremely thin yet coarse and looks kind of fried even though I only use heat at most thrice a year for special occasions.

    Wondering if I could try going no poo because I can’t really tell if my hair is considered dry or not. It is damaged, definitely, but I’m not too sure about dry.

    I’d also like to ask if I can swap the avocado in the hair mask for avocado oil instead, would it have the same benefits?

    I have this strong feeling that going no/low poo would really change my life because I’ve been extremely self-conscious and I go through a lot of self-hate periods because of my hair.

    Thank you so much for sharing your knowledge and your stories. It has really helped so many people, and now I’m hoping it will help me too! Thanks for reading this :)

    Like this

  15. I’m in the transition phase of no-poo, and have gone a couple of days without washing my hair. Yes, it’s getting very oily. After I deep-condition with egg yolk and yogurt, do I just rinse it out with water, or is it ok to wash with BS and ACV?
    Also, after I wash no-poo, my hair is often very staticky. Is that a sign of dryness? Is that normal? When washing with baking soda, I don’t know if I’ve rinsed it out well enough. I feel like I’ve spent enough time doing it, but I’m not sure. How do you know?
    Sorry if you already answer these questions…I’ve looked through the MANY comments and haven’t found these questions.

    Like this

  16. Hi!
    If I use a mix of baking soda and chamomile tea as the “shampoo” and rinse with acv, can I still use the coconut oil and water “mix” to condition or will the oil come out? I really like coconut oil, what washing method would work for it? And should the acv be diluted in water?
    The hair must be conditioned only after I wash it this way? I have a curly hair and I will probably need to wet it more often than the 1 or 2 weeks interval between the washes, I’d like to know what I can do when I wet it, if I need to condition or put anything more than just water.

    Like this

  17. Im clarifying now. I just put this in my hair to deep condition it: half a banana, two egg yolks and the juice from half a lime. It smells good. Im going to leave it in 20-30 min and then rinse really good. Think it will work?

    Like this

  18. I have been no poo for about a month (using the baking soda and ACV once a week) and I had a very oil middle of my hair but very dry ends and it was very tangled. I pushed through and just kept my hair up in a pony tail. I started noticing the oil was getting a bit better but the dryness was getting worse so I finally tried one of these conditioners. I did the egg yolk and yogurt with a little bit of royal jelly powder and OH MY GOD! I LOVE IT! My hair has never been so soft and so shiny! I think I finally saw my way past the transition phase and the egg yolk/yogurt conditioner is what put me over to the other side. I love my hair now. And to think that I was about ready to give up. I’m so glad I decided to try this before I did.

    Thank you so much for this blog!

    Like this

  19. Hi Alex! Thanks so much for all the info and resources. Someone may have already asked this, but is aloe gel better to use than aloe juice, or will they both do pretty much the same thing?

    Like this

  20. Did the aloe/raw honey deep conditioner after the benny clay/raw honey/ACV/water “shampoo”. My hair looks better than it has in a looooooong time (I’ve been in the ‘no-poo’ transition period for about 3 weeks now). I used aloe gel that was 98% from Natural Grocers. I actually made both my shampoo/conditioner the day before and stored them in the fridge overnight. My little sister and I had quite an experience putting it all in my hair–but the result was worth it. Thank you for the recipe!

    Like this

  21. Thanks for these incredible recipes, since I’ve been noo-poo I’ve been dealing with dandruff also, and it’s very frustrating, I’d never had it in my life! Please continue with this great advice!

    Like this

got a question or a comment? leave it here!

