burt’s bees review – product week

product_week

welcome to day 2 of product week! today we’re gonna take a look at burt’s bees!

they make a wide variety of products, so we’ll take a look at a few representative ones:

burt's bees product ranking

as you can see, ingredients labels even from widely trusted brands can be riddled with nasty things. always do your own research!

and i’ve seen your comments! we’ll tackle the brands you wanna see this week! any more brands you can think of that you wanna research?? let’s hear it :)

hippie stamp Sig

24 comments

  1. Hey! With Burt’s Bees products how are their shampoos and conditioners? Their moisture one to be exact. Some family members use that one …

    Like

  2. Great review! Thanks! As my husband likes to say, “you know, cyanide and asbestos are natural…” How about reviewing the line of Badger products out of New Hampshire?

    Like

  3. Hi Alex!
    What about doing some research on The Body Shop? I have been using their Rainforest Shampoo and hair butter for a while and only recently realised that it’s laden with toxic chemicals. Not nice!

    Like

  4. This is great!! Thank you do much for doing product week!!! I was wondering your thoughts on the different EOS lib balms. They are supposedly “all natural”. I’ve done a brief read through and they look relatively good!!
    Thanks for your help!!
    Kayla

    Like

  5. Thanks for this! I had switched to Burt’s (including their toothpaste) when I was pregnant to avoid chemicals, and then I did more research and found that their products weren’t as “natural” as I thought. It’s frightening.

    Like

  6. Hi! First off I just want to thank you for doing this blog! Ive been trying to go more natural and this website has gone above and beyond with helping me do that. I am a big fan of aveda, especially their lotions & would LOVE to see a post about their products. Thanks again! :)

    Like

    1. I was at the Aveda institute in Atlanta recently for a haircut (the students do your hair and for CHEAP!) well I looked at ALL there products basically. Every shampoo has sulfates and every conditioner has silicones. I couldn’t believe it. My thoughts were….and you say you are so natural….oh well. I just wanted a hair cut. They have a hairspray called flax seed and I thought oh like Alex’s! Read it and it has all kinds of stuff in it. I really did not understand how they couldn’t be more organic. Their products are already expensive…..

      Like

  7. Hi Alex, LOVING this blog! Found you a couple of weeks ago & already switched to coconut oil lip balm & moisturiser, stopped using so much heat on my hair, using Castile soap for body wash & plan to make deodorant & a few other things at the weekend. Just waiting till my hair is long enough to pull back & will be going no-poo. I wondered if you have ‘dead sea magik’ products in the us? Whilst pregnant, my skin suffered terribly & these were the only products I could use (mainly on my face) without having visibly flaky skin :( if you have it, I’d love to see a review please. I’m hoping that the natural stuff I’m switching to will be even better though x

    Like

  8. i stumbled across a brand in my local health food store called “Concieved by Nature”, they have shampoo and hair gels and mousse (which i thought id try). it would be great if you could do a review on this one to see how it stands!

    Like

  9. Not long after I started using Burt’s Bees Lip Balm I began developing a bumpy, stinging, dry rash on my lips (though luckily not so visible to others). Before then I never had any kind of lip irritation or issues, and now I find myself with terribly sensitive lips ever since. Makes me wish I had never heard of their brand.

    Like

got a question or a comment? leave it here!

