ph-balanced no-’poo shampoo

welcome back to NO-’POO WEEK!! we’re on day 3!
im still moving and actually typing this in the car on my cell :/ sooo. this post will not be very esthetically pleasing. i’ll fix it at some point! You wouldnt believe how long this has taken to type lol.

up today…. a PH-balanced no-’poo shampoo option! this will be great for those wary of the whole baking soda/vinegar routine. especially those with little ones :)

ph-balanced no-poo shampoo

it’s still homemade (we’ll be tackling commercial products hopefully tomorrow) so you can most certainly switch things up in the recipe. here goes!

WHAT YOU NEED
- coconut milk (canned or homemade. just make sure there’s no added sugars or anything
- pure, organic aloe vera gel (not the sunburn kind!! Lol) it can be straight the plant, cold pressed juice, etc.
- *essential oil of your choice
- *natural oil, like jojoba, sweet almond, argan, or vitamin e

HOW TO
1. depending on how much you wanna make, mix 3 parts aloe vera gel with 4 parts coconut milk
2. add your essential oils and/or other moisturizing oils if you’d like
3. store in your fridge for up to a week OR freeze into cubes to make it last months!

you’ll only need about a half a cube to wash, so make it accordingly :)

anyone else have a nice ph-balanced no-’poo shampoo they love??

signature

59 comments

  1. hello! I’ve been no-poo since august, and i’m still trying to find my perfect routine. I started with diluted castile/acv, but I was still kind of greasy even after several weeks, so I switched to baking soda/acv, but I don’t know how much i’m liking it and i’m getting concerned about the ph level (starting to get straw-like, despite all ingredients being very diluted).
    before going no-poo, my roots were super super oily all the time (like, if I washed at 8am, I was an oil slick by noon), and while going no-poo has helped a lot, i’m still not where i’d like to be. i want to try this coconut milk method, but i’m concerned about oiliness. are there any oily no-pooers out there who tried this and had good results? any other recommendations for us oily chicks?

    Like this

  2. Hi Alex, I love your blog and thank you for your posts.
    I used this shampoo last night and now my hair is so greasy, do i wash them off until my next wash or should I just wash with baking soda now…
    Thank you

    Like this

    1. P.S because I made the wrong portion of the shampoo and I only realised after I washed my hair… since I wanna keep more days without washing in between the “washes”, can you please advice me. Thank you.

      Like this

      1. hey ellis! you can try scrubbing it away with warm water in the shower and using the bs/acv routine to get the extra stuff out of your hair. also, make sure your coconut milk doesn’t have guar gum, any sugars, or any other additives in it. that’ll make your hair “heavy”. i hope this helps!

        Like this

  3. Hello! I just recently found your blog and I love it! I want to start going all natural and first on my list is switching to natural hair products because my hair is soooo damaged. I just had a few questions.

    •First, I want to use the Ph balanced shampoo recipe, so can I use just diluted ACV to clarify and restore my hair’s natural Ph? And if so, how do I do that?
    •Also, will I need to use the ACV clarifying treatment after I start using this ph balanced shampoo recipe? And if I do, how often will I do it?
    •Next, will this shampoo get out coconut oil? If not, what do I use to get it out?

    Sorry I have so many, I’m just really determined to go all natural! Haha. Thank you for this wonderful blog, by the way. I’ll be showing all my friends! :) -Sydney

    Like this

    1. hey sydney! clarifying is stripping your hair of silicones and waxes, so the acv won’t work for that. you can clarify by washing with a bentonite clay mask, or put some baking soda into a small palmful of a cheap $1 shampoo (without silicones). if you opt for the baking soda version, then rinse with the diluted acv. then the next time you wash (a few days later), you can use this ph balanced shampoo. you won’t need acv after. and no, it wont get coconut oil out :( you’ll have to get a low-poo for that. it sucks, i know! i really hope this helps! feel free to keep asking questions. i know it can get overwhelming <3

      Like this

  4. I have just found your blog and LOVE it! I have just switched from store brought shampoos and the recipe I found ( not from you) uses tea, baking soda, Castile soap, xanthum gum. I find my hair is oily at the scalp and dry and brittle at the ends. Should I do a deep conditioner?

    Like this

  5. Hi Alex, I’m really excited to have found this recipe, but I have a few questions…

    - I have 100% “pure” aloe vera gel, but it has thickeners added. I haven’t been able to find a gel WITHOUT thickeners added – is that all right?

    - what size “cubes” are you using to wash?

    - any essential oil recommendations?

    Thanks! I’ve got long, naturally curly hair and it’s ALWAYS dry so I’m very hopeful! :)

    Like this

    1. Ella;
      I also have long naturally curly hair and have ‘no poo’ for two years now. I only use baking soda or my favorite ‘no poo’ shampoo (every day shea) once or twice a week. The other days I either keep my hair dry or I will just rinse and condition with every day Shea conditioner. I only use cider vinegar once or twice a month. I found if I used it more than that it would make my hair feel dry and brittle. I also make my own flax seed hair gel to keep the frizz away (I live in the NW).

      Like this

got a question or a comment? leave it here!

